I love how Twitter can make teaching feel less isolated.

I’ve been pondering the idea of inquiry-based learning since attending Jacob Martens and Pam Hansen’s workshop at the VSB. Well, today while scanning through my Tweetdeck stream, I came across a tweet by @katrinakennett about i-search papers, and I think I’ve found a way to introduce the idea to students, (before eventually incorporating inquiry in the context of a novel study.)

The i-search paper gives students a chance to focus on inquiry by presenting it in a series of steps. (After teaching in special ed. for three years, I’m all for being explicit and breaking things down into very clearly.)

Here’s a link to a chapter excerpt that details the process:

http://faculty.nwacc.edu/tmcginn/writing%20an%20I-search%20paper.pdf

The idea was first mentioned in a book by Ken Macrorie called The I-Search Paper.

