Delta Secondary School v/p Aaron Aakune’s blog post has spurred me to finally return to blogging.
In his latest post, he writes:
“It is crucial that we model for students our online connections and demonstrate to them how powerful these interactions are in our own learning.”
It got me thinking about how I really should get back to blogging.

So here I am.

I started blogging regularly in 2004 as a way to record my thoughts while going through teachers college. My page on xanga mostly focused around my process in Becoming a Teacher and it was something that I shared with my cohort, as well as anyone online who stumbled upon it online. Through the xanga blogrings, I made connections with people from around the world who were interested in similar (and not so similar) things.

Even before xanga, I was already experimenting with creating things online. I coded my first website back in 2001 using HTML, just for fun. (I cringe when I think about the site now…blogging tools have definitely changed the way people can get online now.)

And then when I went through journalism and media training, I would edit and upload text and audio stories. I was also a TA for a blended-course — the prof lectured once a week, and during the tutorials, my section of students would meet online in a forum to discuss whatever came up during the lectures. Later when I worked in broadcasting, one of the duties in the newsroom was to write for the newscast and upload those scripts to the company website.

I guess technology and the internet have been such a regular part of my life (got my first computer in 1990 and sat through dial-up access to get online) that I didn’t think to continue with something as obvious as blogging.

But Aaron Aakune’s entry reminded me that it’s still relevant, especially for us educators, especially since all of our students are a part of this online world as well.

And there’s a lot to be said and shared beyond a 140 character limit.
